Other ways to search: Events Calendar | UTHSC

Womack Receives Laureate Award From The American College of Physicians

Dr. Catherine Womack (Photo provided by Dr. Catherine Womack)

Catherine Womack, MD, FACP, assistant dean of Student Affairs, interim chair of the Department of Preventive Medicine and co-chief of the Division of Internal Medicine in the College of Medicine at the University of Tennnessee Health Science Center (UTHSC), received the Laureate Award, from the Tennessee Chapter of the American College of Physicians (ACP). She has been a Fellow of the organization since 2010.

The award recognizes individuals who demonstrate by their example and conduct an abiding commitment to excellence in medical care, education or research, and in service to their community, their chapter and the American College of Physicians.

“The award is an incredible honor,” Dr. Womack said. “I think working at UTHSC has given me many opportunities to grow as a clinician, educator and researcher. I hope that I will be able to serve UTHSC and the Tennesee ACP chapter for many years to come. I personally want to thank my mentor Dr. Jim Lewis, as he continues to inspire the next generation of medical students to practice internal medicine.”

Also an associate professor in the Departments of Internal Medicine and Preventive Medicine, Dr. Womack has been at UTHSC since 1998. She earned her undergraduate degree in accounting from the University of Mississippi and was a practicing accountant before graduating from the UTHSC College of Medicine in 1995. An accomplished internist, Dr. Womack has been recognized as a Top Doctor or Best Doctor every year for the last 15 years. She has authored more than 24 articles in many notable research journals on topics such as osteoporosis, hypertension, lung cancer and vitamin D.