Other ways to search: Events Calendar | UTHSC

Valeria Vásquez Receives Margaret Oakley Dayhoff Award

Dr. Valeria Vásquez (Photo by Allen Gillespie/UTHSC)

Valeria Vásquez, PhD, assistant professor in the Department of Physiology in the College of Medicine at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center, is the recipient of the Margaret Oakley Dayhoff Award from the Biophysical Society, an organization that encourages the development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. Dr. Vásquez was recognized for her pioneering work toward understanding how the functions of sensory ion channels are modulated by bioactive lipids and natural toxins.

She will receive the award in February, during the organization’s annual meeting in San Diego.

Presented annually, the Margaret Oakley Dayhoff Award is given to a woman who holds very high promise or has achieved prominence while developing the early stages of a career in biophysical research within the purview and interest of the Biophysical Society. It is given in memory of Dr. Margaret Dayhoff, former president of the Biophysical Society, professor of Biophysics at Georgetown University, and director of Research at the National Biomedical Research Foundation.