Other ways to search: Events Calendar | UTHSC

Talati Receives Founder’s Award from Southern Society of Pediatric Research

Dr. Ajay J. Talati

Ajay J. Talati, MD, Sheldon B. Korones Chair and Chief of Neonatology in the College of Medicine at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center, received the Founder’s Award from the Southern Society for Pediatric Research (SSPR). He was recognized during the organization’s Annual Meeting in New Orleans.

The Southern Society for Pediatric Research provides pediatric educators and investigators from the southern United States an opportunity to present their research and work to its membership. The Founder’s Award is given to a SSPR member who has made significant contributions to both the health care of children and the organization’s activities.

Dr. Talati, who  is also a professor in the Departments of Pediatrics and Obstetrics and Gynecology at UTHSC,  medical director of the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit at  Le Bonheur Children’s Hospital, and medical director of the Sheldon B. Korones Newborn Center at  Regional One Health, has been involved with the SSPR for the last 25 years. He is a previous recipient of  the Ross Award for Research (2001), Young Investigator Award (2002), and the Pediatric Educator Award (2017). He also served as the organization’s president from 2008 to 2009.