Other ways to search: Events Calendar | UTHSC

Seaberg Named Dean for the College of Medicine, Chattanooga


Steve J. Schwab, MD, executive dean of the College of Medicine for the UT Health Science Center (UTHSC), has announced the appointment of David C. Seaberg, MD, CPE, FACEP, as dean for the College of Medicine, Chattanooga.

Steve J. Schwab, MD, executive dean of the College of Medicine for the University of Tennessee Health Science Center (UTHSC), has announced the appointment of David C. Seaberg, MD, CPE, FACEP, as dean for the College of Medicine, Chattanooga, one of three College of Medicine campuses that are part of the UT Health Science Center.

“The national search conducted for this position by the Chattanooga campus of the College of Medicine and Parker Executive Search identified a group of outstanding medical leaders,” Executive Dean Schwab stated. “The search committee, ably lead by Phillip Burns, MD, chair of Surgery at the Chattanooga campus and outgoing Chattanooga Dean B.W. Ruffner, Jr., MD, selected a group of exceptional candidates who made several visits to Chattanooga. This search process revealed that Dr. Seaberg possessed the strongest combination of skills and practical experience to meet the needs of the Chattanooga campus community,” Executive Dean Schwab said.

“We are very pleased with the appointment of Dr. Seaberg. He has been a national figure in emergency medicine in the United States, with extensive experience in clinical trials as well as graduate medical education,” Dr. Schwab observed. “Dr. Seaberg is well positioned to lead our Chattanooga campus.”

All three UTHSC College of Medicine campuses — Chattanooga, Knoxville and Memphis — report to the executive dean.

“It speaks to the academic excellence of the UT College of Medicine Chattanooga that Dr. Seaberg, who comes from a nationally recognized program, has chosen to accept this position. We are excited about his joining us, and look forward to continuing to grow our partnership,” said Jim Brexler, president and CEO, Erlanger Health System.

Dr. Seaberg is a professor and chairman for the Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of Florida, Gainesville. He attended medical school at the University of Minnesota and completed his residency training in Emergency Medicine at the University of Pittsburgh. He is certified by the American Board of Emergency Medicine and the Certifying Commission in Medical Management. Dr. Seaberg has authored more than 125 publications, book chapters and abstracts. He has also received numerous teaching and research awards.

In addition to his University of Florida role, Dr. Seaberg has served as president of the Florida College of Emergency Physicians and serves on the Board of Directors for the American College of Emergency Physicians, and the Emergency Medicine Learning and Resource Center. He has been a leader in Florida with regard to medical and hospital aspects of domestic security. Also, he founded the University Alliance for Weapons of Mass Destruction Education and served as co-chair of the Health/Medical/ Hospital/EMS Committee of the State Work Group for Domestic Security.

“I’m looking forward to further developing the academic medical linkage between the University of Tennessee College of Medicine, Erlanger Hospital and the Chattanooga community,” Dr. Seaberg said. “The UT-Erlanger academic medical center not only provides state-of-the-art care for our patients today; but we are conducting cutting-edge research, as well as training new physicians for the future care of our patients in middle Tennessee.”

As the flagship statewide academic health system, the UT Health Science Center is focused on a four-tier mission of education, research, clinical care and public service, all in support of a single goal: to improve the health of Tennesseans. Offering a broad range of postgraduate training opportunities, the main campus, which includes six colleges, is located in Memphis. UTHSC has additional College of Medicine campus locations in Knoxville and Chattanooga. For more information, visit www.uthsc.edu.