Other ways to search: Events Calendar | UTHSC

Researcher, Clinician and Professor Samuel Dagogo-Jack of The University of Tennessee Health Science Center Honored as Physician of the Year by National Medical Association


Memphis, Tenn. (Aug. 19, 2013) – Samuel Dagogo-Jack, MD, FRCP, FACP, FACE, professor of medicine and director of the Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center (UTHSC), has been selected as the Internal Medicine Section Physician of the Year by the National Medical Association. In late July, he received the award during the NMA 2013 Convention and Scientific Assembly in Toronto.

Dr. Dagogo-Jack, the A. C. Mullins Chair in Translational Research and director of the General Clinical Research Center at UTHSC, was honored for his work and research in the pathobiology of prediabetes and diabetes, according to the NMA, the nation’s oldest and largest organization representing African-American physicians and health professionals. He was also cited for his “continued dedication to the NMA Internal Medicine Section.” The collective voice of African-American physicians nationwide, the NMA represents the interests of 50,000 African-American physicians and the patients they serve. The association is the leading force for parity and justice in medicine, as well as the elimination of disparities in health.

Dr. Dagogo-Jack, who serves as the director of the Endocrinology Fellowship Training Program at UTHSC, graduated from the University of Ibadan Medical School in Nigeria, completed residency training in internal medicine at the Royal Victoria Infirmary at the University of Newcastle, UK, and was certified as a member of the Royal College of Physicians in London. He earned his master of science and his doctorate in medicine degrees at the University of Newcastle. He completed postdoctoral fellowship training at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis.

He is a fellow of the American College of Physicians and the American College of Endocrinology. An active member of the Endocrine Society and the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists, he is also a member of the Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society.