Other ways to search: Events Calendar | UTHSC

Dr. Marie Chisholm-Burns, Dean of the UTHSC College of Pharmacy, Wins National Award for Sustained Contributions to Biomedical Literature


New Dr. Chisholm-BurnsMarie Chisholm-Burns, PharmD, MBA, MPH, FCCP, FASHP, dean of the College of Pharmacy at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center (UTHSC), is the recipient of the 2013 Literature Award for Sustained Contributions given by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) Research and Education Foundation.

The award honors important contributions by pharmacists to biomedical literature, and is made to individuals who publish high-impact articles in the primary, peer-reviewed journals, according to the ASHP Foundation. Emphasis is placed on originality, innovation, impact and quality of the contributed articles.

Dr. Chisholm-Burns, who has been a pharmacist since 1992, was appointed dean of the College of Pharmacy at UTHSC in 2011. Previously professor and head of the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science at the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy, she is a nationally known investigator and educator, and an accomplished scholar and author. Her work has appeared in more than 260 publications, and she has received about $8 million in external funding from organizations, such as the National Institutes of Health and several foundations, for research on which she is the principal investigator.

Dr. Chisholm-Burns serves on the editorial board of several journals, including the American Journal of Health-System Pharmacy. She has published several textbooks that have been adopted in many schools of pharmacy, medicine and nursing. Textbooks coedited by Dr. Chisholm-Burns, “Pharmacotherapy Principles and Practice” and “Pharmacy Management, Leadership, Marketing, and Finance,” received the American Medical Writers Association’s Medical Book Award.

Dr. Chisholm-Burns, who said she finds writing “therapeutic,” has also twice received the Rufus A. Lyman Award for most outstanding publication in the American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education.

“Receiving this award from the ASHP Foundation is monumental, as this organization has not only been a pioneer in the health-system pharmacy arena, but also in promoting biomedical literature,” she said. “The ASHP and the ASHP Foundation have been a part of my professional life since I started in pharmacy, and it is a great honor to receive this award. This award is not only about my contributions, but also the contributions of many. I am very fortunate to be part of so many wonderful teams and organizations.”

About the UTHSC College of Pharmacy

The UTHSC College of Pharmacy, established in 1898, was ranked at Number 17 in the nation among pharmacy schools by U.S. News & World Report in the 2012 Best Grad Schools ranking. UTHSC had a 100 percent first-time pass rate for the North American Pharmacist Licensure Examination (NAPLEX) this year, according to the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy. UTHSC’s annual pharmacy in-state tuition of $21,820 is considerably less than the five other pharmacy schools in Tennessee. More than 97 percent of UTHSC pharmacy students reported being employed within three months of graduation this year.