Other ways to search: Events Calendar | UTHSC

Dentistry Honors Excellence with 2010 Outstanding Alumni Awards


Annually, the college honors two alumni recognized by the UT College of Dentistry Alumni Association. The 2010 honorees are Drs. Jimmy E. Albright and Tommy G. Roebuck.

Significant strides in dentistry have been made locally, nationally and beyond as a direct result of outstanding graduates from the University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Dentistry. Annually, the college honors two alumni recognized by the UT College of Dentistry Alumni Association as having made distinguished contributions to the dentistry field. This year’s Outstanding Alumni Awards will be presented during a noon luncheon at the Hilton Hotel on Friday, March 5. Nearly 1,000 guests are expected, including about 300 dentists, their families and friends. The 2010 honorees are Drs. Jimmy E. Albright and Tommy G. Roebuck.

Jimmy E. Albright, DDS, Class of 1963, began dental practice the same year at the Kentucky Health Department. In 1964, he joined the U.S. Navy. After a tour of duty in Vietnam, Dr. Albright obtained the rank of lieutenant commander and was stationed for two years at the naval dental clinic in Philadelphia, Pa. He returned to Vietnam to perform dentistry on a Navy hospital ship and later became a fellow in oral surgery at the naval hospital in Orlando, Fla. After earning the rank of commander, he performed a residency in oral surgery at the naval hospital in Bethesda, Md., and was later assigned to duty on the USS Midway.

The dental expert resigned his full-time commission with the Navy in 1974 and became affiliated with the U.S. Naval Reserve. He continued service to the reserve until his retirement in1990, with the rank of captain.

In 1974, Dr. Albright joined the University of Tennessee College of Dentistry faculty in the Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery. He has held several positions at the college as a professor, director and departmental chair. He currently serves as a part-time professor and practices dentistry in Memphis. Additionally, Dr. Albright is a staff member or consultant for several local hospitals including: The Regional Medical Center at Memphis, Baptist Memorial Health Care Corporation, Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare Corporation and Saint Francis Hospital.

Throughout his career, Dr. Albright has received honors and awards including: The Fellowship Award from the Tennessee Dental Association, the Distinguished Dental Faculty Award from UT College of Dentistry, the Humanitarian Award from the Memphis Dental Society, Fellowship in the American College of Dentists and Fellowship in the International College of Dentists. He is a member of Omicron Kappa Upsilon and the Richard Doggett Dean and Marguerite Taylor Dean Honorary Odontological Society. Also, he is a life-member of the American Society of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons. Dr. Albright is certified by the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery and served on the examining committee of that body for six years. He has lectured at seminars nationwide and has authored or co-authored numerous articles for dental journals.

Tommy G. Roebuck, DDS, PA, received his undergraduate education at the University of Arkansas in Monticello in 1959. He graduated from the UT College of Dentistry in 1962. After earning his dentistry degree, Dr. Roebuck served in the U.S. Army Dental Corps at Fort Campbell, Ky. He returned to Arkansas in 1965 to start his dental practice in Arkadelphia. During his career, he was affiliated with several professional societies, including: the Arkansas State Dental Association, the American Dental Association, the Academy of General Dentistry, the Pierre Fauchard Academy, and the Federation Dentaire Internationale. Dr. Roebuck was also inducted as a fellow in the American College of Dentists and the International College of Dentists.

Dr. Roebuck served in the U.S. Army Reserve for more than 28 years. He held the position of 807th Medical Brigade Dental Surgeon from 1992 until 1996. This command included the reserve units in Arkansas, Oklahoma, Texas, Louisiana and New Mexico. He received several military awards, including two Army Commendation medals, two Army Meritorious medals and the Army Legion of Merit.

Early on, Dr. Roebuck became active with the Arkansas State Dental Association (ASDA) serving on the executive council for six years before being selected as vice president and president of the ASDA. He worked briefly as the ASDA executive director and served as Delegate to the American Dental Association (ADA) for six years.

Nationally, Dr. Roebuck was involved in advocacy with the ADA and the Council for Governmental Affairs. He was vice chairman for the council, which involved meetings with the Arkansas congressional delegation in Washington, D.C., and chairman for the Federal Dental Services Subcommittee. In March 1999, he was presented an award for the best grassroots dental political organization in the United States.

Dr. Roebuck was elected to the Arkansas House of Representatives in 2000. In this role, he sponsored legislation that established the Office of Oral Health within the Arkansas Department of Health. His efforts improved the system of care for children and families with mental and behavioral problems. During his tenure in the House, he received legislator awards from numerous organizations.

Dr. Roebuck’s commitment to education is truly evident in the support he has given to the UT College of Dentistry. For more than 30 years, he has been a strong voice in Arkansas and has been instrumental in keeping the UT College of Dentistry alumni base strong, mobilized and actively engaged in oral health advocacy.