Other ways to search: Events Calendar | UTHSC

UTHSC College of Pharmacy Honors Alumni Shepard and Manley


David A. Shepard, PharmD, and Emmett Manley, Jr., PhD, will receive top honors from the University of Tennessee Health Science Center (UTHSC) College of Pharmacy Alumni Association at its 2006 Alumni Awards and Reunion Luncheon.

David A. Shepard, PharmD, and Emmett Manley, Jr., PhD, will receive top honors from the University of Tennessee Health Science Center (UTHSC) College of Pharmacy Alumni Association at its 2006 Alumni Awards and Reunion Luncheon. The luncheon will be held at noon on Friday, September 29, at the Memphis Marriott East. Dr. Shepard of Dickson, Tenn., will be presented the Distinguished Service to Pharmacy Award. Dr. Manley, a native of Jackson, Tenn., and a retired UTHSC Professor in the College of Pharmacy, will be recognized as the 2006 UT College of Pharmacy Outstanding Alumnus.

David A. Shepard, PharmD

The Distinguished Service Award is presented annually to a person or organization for outstanding service to the profession of pharmacy and the College. A pharmacist by trade, Dr. Shepard’s impact on pharmacy and health care in Tennessee has been felt far beyond the Dickson Apothecary he and pharmacist wife, Martha, (UTHSC ’73) established after graduating. As a three-term representative to the Tennessee House, Dr. Shepard has actively represented the people of his district and the interests of the profession of pharmacy in Nashville.

Dr. Shepard and fellow pharmacist, Senator Randy McNally (UTHSC ’69) of Oak Ridge, Tenn., are important resources to other legislators on matters affecting the pharmacy profession and health care of the people of Tennessee. Dr. Shepard is secretary of the House Commerce Committee, the House Small Business Subcommittee, and the House Mental Health Subcommittee. Additionally, he is a member of the House Health Committee, the House Industrial Impact Subcommittee, the House Professional Occupations Subcommittee, the Joint Fiscal Review Committee, and the Joint TennCare Oversight Committee.

UTHSC Dean Dick Gourley, College of Pharmacy, stated, “Whether he is managing the medication therapy of a single patient, mentoring students or involved with other government leaders in Nashville, David is an outstanding pharmacist and patient advocate. Tennesseans and the pharmacy profession have benefited significantly from David’s talent for many years. We are proud to present him the Distinguished Service to Pharmacy Award as a small token of our appreciation and admiration.”

After receiving his BS and PharmD degrees from the UT College of Pharmacy in 1974 and 1975, respectively, Dr. Shepard served as clinical pharmacist at the VA Medical Center in Nashville. Currently, Dr. and Mrs. Shepard are faculty members for UTHSC pharmacy students on rotation, and their pharmacy is a site in the UTHSC Community Pharmacy Residency Program.

Emmett Manley, Jr., PhD

Dr. Manley will receive the Outstanding Alumnus Award, which recognizes a member of the profession of pharmacy who has distinguished himself/herself in the areas of: Community service, leadership in local, state or national health or non-health related organizations; teaching or research activities, or service to the University of Tennessee College of Pharmacy.

As the College of Pharmacy’s assistant dean for education for the last 15 years of his career, Dr. Manley spearheaded the effort to recruit and train pharmacy preceptors across Tennessee. Prior to that, he served on the faculty of the College of Pharmacy, where, as a full professor, he taught, conducted research, published, and supervised graduate students. The recipient of numerous teaching awards, Dr. Manley was also one of the select few presented the UT National Alumni Association’s Outstanding Teaching Award.

Earlier in his career, he served as course director for all pharmacology courses offered to pharmacy students. In 1975, Dr. Manley moved to the Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine where he accepted positions as pharmacology chairman and academic associate dean

Outside the scientific world, Dr. Manley has been actively involved in financial planning and investing for more than 40 years. Since the early 1980s he has presented numerous financial programs to medical and pharmacy groups and continues to work with many health professionals as a personal finance educator.

Prior to attending the UT College of Pharmacy, Dr. Manley attended Lambuth University, University of Memphis, and Vanderbilt University. Following completion of his undergraduate degree in 1959 at the UT College of Pharmacy, he was awarded his Doctor of Philosophy in pharmacology/physiology by the UT College of Medicine in 1963. He completed a two-year research fellowship in cardiovascular physiology at The Bowman Gray School of Medicine of Wake Forest University.

“Throughout his career at the UT Health Science Center, Dr. Manley has been instrumental in shaping the College of Pharmacy’s educational offerings at all levels,” Dean Dick Gourley commented. “He was a major contributor to the pharmacology curriculum and helped build the pharmacy preceptor program. This award reflects the tremendous contribution Emmett made as one of our foremost educators.”