Other ways to search: Events Calendar | UTHSC

New Advisory Board for UTHSC Meets February 14 in Memphis


The advisory board for the University of Tennessee Health Science Center established by the UT FOCUS Act passed by the state legislature will hold its inaugural meeting February 14, 2019, on the UTHSC campus in Memphis. The meeting will be in Suite 305 of the Student-Alumni Center, 800 Madison Avenue, from 1 until 4 p.m.  Members of the Advisory Board unable to be present in Memphis will be allowed to participate by video or telephone.

Agenda items include:

  • Adoption of bylaws of the UTHSC Advisory Board
  • Conflict of interest reporting
  • Introduction of the Student Government Association Executive Council (SGAEC) president as the student member of the Advisory Board
  • Election of a chair of the Advisory Board
  • Election of the secretary of the Advisory Board on the chancellor’s recommendation
  • State of UT Health Science Center orientation
  • Setting future meeting dates
  • Potential agenda items for future meetings

Each UT campus across the state is served by an advisory board of five public members, one faculty member, and one student member. The UTHSC Advisory Board members are: U.S. District Court Judge Mark Norris, Collierville; Michael Ugwueke, Germantown, president and CEO of Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare; Natalie Tate, PharmD, PhD, Chattanooga, vice president, Pharmacy, Blue Cross/Blue Shield; Lynn Massingale, MD, Knoxville, co-founder of TeamHealth; and Phil Wenk, DDS, Brentwood, president and CEO of Delta Dental of Tennessee.

Individuals with a disability who wish to attend this meeting may contact the ADA coordinator for the UTHSC Office of Equity and Diversity (OED), 920 Madison Avenue, Suite 825, Memphis, Tennessee, 38163, telephone 901-448-7382 (V/TTY available), email hsc-oed@uthsc.edu, to request auxiliary aids or services needed to facilitate attendance. Contact may be made in person, by writing, by email, by telephone, or otherwise.