Other ways to search: Events Calendar | UTHSC

Impact Award Winners Make UTHSC a Better Place

Jean Perdicaris
Jean Perdicaris
Stephanie Lancaster
Stephanie Lancaster

The Office of Inclusion, Equity, and Diversity presented the UTHSC Impact Awards recently to recognize outstanding work being done by faculty, staff, students, and trainees at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center.

Winners of the Lichterman Award, the Chancellor’s Exempt Staff Award, Student Social Justice and Diversity Leadership Awards, and the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Faculty Award were announced during a ceremony on Zoom.

The annual Lichterman Award winner was Jean Perdicaris, the assistant to the vice chancellor for Academic, Faculty, and Student Affairs. She works directly with staff, faculty, trainees, and students in her role. She was recognized for bringing a positive attitude to all her interactions and always looking to work on the next project or assignment, even in her down time.

The Chancellor’s Exempt Staff Award was given to Rachel George, the clinical coordinator for the College of Nursing. She was lauded for her work with students, faculty, colleagues, and trainees, and her belief that high-quality service should be the top priority.

Rachel George
Rachel George

Stephanie Lancaster, EdD, MS, OTR/L, ATP, CAPS, an assistant professor and program director for the Master of Occupational Therapy program in the College of Health Professions, was awarded the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Award. She regularly teaches and mentors students, as well as interacts with faculty members, staff, and trainees. She serves on multiple boards and committees, and has research focuses on teaching and learning for students with diverse needs and on implementing cultural humility inside and outside the classroom.

Student Social Justice and Diversity Healthcare Leadership Awards were given to:

  • College of Dentistry – Aquil Muhammad
  • College of Graduate Health Sciences – Winter Bruner
  • College of Nursing – Latoria Boyland
  • College of Medicine – Gene Lamanilao and Connor Lenihan
  • College of Pharmacy – Juan Rodriguez

The review committee for the awards included a representative from each college and multiple departmental units. Nominations were received from five of the six colleges at UTHSC, and awards were given to at least one student from each of those colleges. Two students from the College of Medicine received awards.

“The award recipients demonstrate how things are done at UTHSC,” said Michael Alston, EdD, associate vice chancellor for Inclusion, Equity, and Diversity and
the chief diversity officer for UTHSC. “Through their habits, they positively impact UTHSC’s culture and make the university a better place for us all.”