Other ways to search: Events Calendar | UTHSC

Annual Department of Medicine and Alpha Omega Alpha Beta Tennessee Chapter Research Day 2017


The Department of Medicine and the Alpha Omega Alpha Beta Tennessee Chapter presented the annual Research in Medicine and Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Student Research Day on Friday, February 24. The event was from 3-6 p.m. in the Madison Plaza with presentations in the Hamilton Eye Institute Freeman Auditorium.

Abstracts were submitted by students in the College of Medicine as well as faculty, fellows, post-doctoral fellows and residents
in the Department of Medicine. Over 60 abstracts were received for this year’s event. All abstracts were judged prior to the day of the presentation, and awards were given for the top two abstracts in each trainee category. The first author of the top abstract in each category was invited to give an oral presentation during the program. All abstracts were presented during the poster session from 4:30-6:00 PM.

Darryl Quarles, MD, professor and director of Nephrology, and associate dean for Research in the UTHSC College of Medicine, delivered the keynote address. The first place abstracts were presented in 10 minute oral format.

The winners in each category were:


First Place: William Evans

Second Place: Shane Hagen


First Place: Manyoo Agarwal, MD

Second Place (tie): Upama Giri, MD, and Kruti Patel, DO


First Place: Ben Brannick, MD

Second Place (tie): Chiranjeevi Gadiparthi, MD, and Ranjana Tripathi, PhD