Other ways to search: Events Calendar | UTHSC

Will You Serve As A Faculty Senator?


The Faculty Senate represents the faculty in the shared governance of the university. Senators are elected from all departments, working as a body and through committees to develop and recommend policies regarding the administrative, clinical, research, and educational objectives of the campus.   

Right now, the Senate needs representatives from the following Departments

UTHSC Memphis Campus, College of Dentistry: General Dentistry (2 seats), Endontics, Pediatric Dentistry-Community Oral Health, Prosthodontics, Orthodontics. 

UTHSC Memphis Campus, College of Medicine: Clinical Medical Education, Emergency Medicine, Medicine (Cardiology; 2 seats), Medicine (2 seats), Medicine (Pulmonary), Neurology, Neurosurgery, Opthamology, Pediatrics (Neo), Pediatrics (Critical Care), Pediatrics (Pulmonology), Plastic Surgery, Psychiatry, Radiology, Surgery (4 seats), Urology, Family Medicine. 

UTHSC Chattanooga Campus: Family Medicine, Emergency Medicine, Neurology, Internal Medicine, OB/GYN, Orthopedic Surgery, Pediatrics, Plastic Surgery, Surgery (3 seats), Urology. 

Are you able to fill a seat from one of these open areas? 

If you think you are eligible, please reach out to Faculty Senate President, Mr. Paul J Koltnow (pkoltnow@uthsc.edu), or Faculty Senate Secretary, Dr. Karen Derefinko (kderefin@uthsc.edu) for details.