Other ways to search: Events Calendar | UTHSC

Dental Hygiene Realignment


Effective July 1, the Dental Hygiene Department will be realigned under the UTHSC College of Dentistry. By July 1, the seven full-time faculty, 16 adjunct faculty and four staff members of the department will relocate across campus from their 930 Madison Avenue offices to the Dunn Dental Building at 875 Union Avenue. The leadership of the Dental Hygiene program will remain in place, reporting to John D. Seeberg, DDS, assistant dean for Clinical Affairs in the College of Dentistry.

“We recognized that consolidating the Dental Hygiene Department under the College of Dentistry has the potential to achieve more efficient use of academic, physical and financial resources.”
Chancellor Steve J. Schwab, MD

For Dental Hygiene students, the College of Dentistry is where their clinical education is housed. Clinical education is a huge part of the undergraduate curriculum. It’s, therefore, a more logical alignment. The program will be where their resources are located.

Future generations of dentists working side by side with future dental hygienists in the same college seems like a natural fit. We know our dentistry students, faculty and staff, who are all engaged in varying aspects of this highly sought-after profession, will appreciate the added proximity and ease of studying and training together.

Dean Noma Anderson
College of Allied Health Sciences

Dean Timothy Hottel
College of Dentistry