Other ways to search: Events Calendar | UTHSC

College of Dentistry Student Research Day, 2018


The UTHSC College of Dentistry 2018 Student Research Day and Table Clinic Competition was held on February 15 at the Student Alumni Center. The meeting was opened by Interim Dean J. Stansill Covington III, followed by Dr. Franklin García-Godoy, Chair and Professor of the Bioscience Research Department, who introduced featured speaker Dr. Franklin Tay, Chair and Professor of the Department of Endodontics at the Georgia College of Dentistry at Augusta University. His presentation “Is the Dentin Adhesive You are Using Low or High Maintenance?” highlighted advanced microscopic and biochemical approaches to evaluate factors that determine the long term success of dentin adhesives in dental practice.

26 Dental Students, 3 Residents, and 12 Dental Hygiene students presented results of their studies in 31 posters and table clinics.

Alyssa Lambert was selected as winner of the Student Clinician Award for the most outstanding clinical presentation. Her award was sponsored by the Dentsply Sirona Corporation and was presented by Leslie Hollier-du Plooy, representing Dentsply Sirona.

Alyssa’s project was titled “Evaluation of Toothbrushing Using Cosmetic and Current Dentifrices on Porcelain.” Alyssa is a third-year dental student. She was assisted in her project by D-3 student Julian Brandt Smith, and by Brian Morrow and Dr. Franklin García-Godoy.

Also receiving awards for their outstanding presentations of 2017 research projects were Cameron Togrye, winner of the Harold Cloogman Award, Brooklin Byrd, Jerold Campbell, and Gregory Digby, winners of AADR Memphis Chapter Awards for Student Research, and Jill Gibson, K. Olivia Hughes, and Julian Brandt Smith, winners of James C. Ragain Jr. Awards for Excellence in Student Research.

Their projects were also presented in November of 2017 at the Hinman Student Research Symposium in Memphis. Brooklin Byrd, Jerold Campbell, Gregory Digby, Olivia Hughes, J. Brandt Smith, and Cameron Togrye will also present their projects in March of 2018 at the American Association for Dental Research meeting in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, along with fellow students Jennifer Brown, Shelly Gareiss, and Tanner Matone.

Rachel Jordan, LeCora McNamara, Kristy Oattis, and Taylor Reynolds received the first Dental Hygiene Program Research Award for their presentation “Enhancing and Prolonging your Dental Career with Healthy Ergonomic Practice.”  They were assisted by Dr. Michelle Miles.

Dr. Martina Elenkova received the Stacy A. Garner – Graduate Program Research Award sponsored by the Tennessee Dental Association Foundation for her presentation, “Vitamin D Attenuates Human Gingival Fibroblast Inflammatory Cytokine Production Following AGE-RAGE Interaction.” She was assisted by Drs. David Tipton, Anastasios Karydis, and Sidney Stein.

The Student Research Training Program was supported by grants from the UTHSC College of Dentistry Alumni Endowment Fund and the Tennessee Dental Association Foundation.

Photos are at: